2011 Awards of Excellence

Congratulations to all of the nominees and award winners!

The Building Owners and Managers Association recognized a number of its members for their outstanding work throughout the year at its annual Awards of Excellence Luncheon, on June 17th at the Delta Winnipeg.

Awards were presented to acknowledge outstanding customer service (the Pinnacle Award), environmental responsibility (the Earth Awards), and excellence in building management (The Outstanding Building of the Year Awards, and Building Operator of the Year).

Special thanks to the Awards Committee and judges, and to event MC Chrissy Troy of HOT 103. BOMA Manitoba would also like to thank Demand Side Energy for sponsoring the event.

Winners List

The Outstanding Building of the Year (TOBY)

TOBY – Corporate Facility
Manitoba Hydro Place – Manitoba Hydro

Manitoba Hydro
Mark Pauls (Manitoba Hydro), BOMA President Tom Skraba (Red River College), Tom Akerstream (Manitoba Hydro), Darren Sachvie

TOBY – 100,000 to 249,999 sq. ft.
Royal Bank Building – CREIT Management L.P.

Creit Management
Doug Hoover (CREIT Management L.P.), Sue Ziemski (CREIT Management L.P.)

TOBY – Office Building 250,000 to 499,999 sq. ft.
201 Portage – Creswin Properties Inc.

Creswin Properties
Terry Orsulak (Creswin Properties Inc.), BOMA Past President Glenn Cayer (Manitoba Hydro)

Pinnacle Award for Customer Service

Award Recipient
John Warnica – Lowe Mechanical Services Ltd.

Pinnacle Award for Customer Service
John Warnica (Lowe Mechanical Services Ltd.), Lindsey Saunders (Towers Realty Group)

Earth Awards

Office Building Category – less than 100,000 square ft.
MTS Allstream,1750 McGillivray Boulevard – MTS Allstream Inc.

MTS Allstream
Bill Hay (MTS Allstream), Alex Fleming (Demand Side Energy)

Office Building Category – 100,000 to 249,999 square ft.
Royal Bank Building, 220 Portage Avenue – CREIT Management L.P.

Credit Management
Doug Hoover (CREIT Management L.P.), Sue Ziemski (CREIT Management L.P.), Alex Fleming (Demand Side Energy)

Multi-Use Building
Winnipeg Convention Centre, 375 York Avenue – Winnipeg Convention Corporation

Convention Center
Alex Fleming (Demand Side Energy), Terry Hollett (Winnipeg Convention Centre)

Building Operator of the Year

Award Recipient
Ray Kozak, 1039 Princess Street (Brandon) – SNC-Lavalin O&M

BOMA President
Ray Kozak (SNC-Lavalin O&M), BOMA Past President Glenn Cayer (Manitoba Hydro)


The following awards guidebooks are available for download:

Building Directory

Find a building in our comprehensive directory. Search for BOMA members, BOMA BEST buildings, and a variety of different ways to find what you’re looking for quickly!

Locate a building

Service Directory

If you’re looking for services – we encourage you to turn to a follow BOMA Manitoba member! We have it all from A to Z, to find what the service you’re needing and fast!

Find a service provider